Home > Editorials > Quick Update

Quick Update

I just wanted to drop a note to say I am indeed alive and well. It’s been super busy for most of September with all the High Holy Days, and the time in between has been spent catching up with house chores or preparing for the next holiday. I also went to Puerto Rico for 4 days to see Mom after her surgery. I was pleased to find her in good spirits and recovering nicely. Hopefully in a couple of weeks this will all be done with and she can go back to normal life. And yes, the results showed that the hysterectomy took care of all the cancer and nothing was found outside the affected area, which is awesome.

I had a job interview yesterday that I thought went pretty well, so we’ll see what happens with that. My birthday is also next week, and my wife is planning an 80’s Retro Party, though I think it’s more for her than for me; my birthday just happens to be the perfect excuse.Β  πŸ™‚

Ok, so Sukkot is now almost over and man, it’s been a wet season! I haven’t been able to use my sukkah much, though today the sun is shinning a bit, so maybe later on I can hang out there for a while.

I have gotten 4 episodes of The Digital Front Podcast out now, and I am liking that show a lot! I have a new episode of The Gamer Traveler Podcast almost ready to go, but whether it comes out this week or next I don’t know yet. I still have a lot of things to do here in the house, so I better get to that and get it over with.

I have so much stuff I still want to write about, stuff even from Gen Con, like how to have a Kosher Gen Con experience (hey, I found out I am not the only Orthodox gamer around! Hi, David!), and about the games I played back then, and about what I am planning to do with my life as I turn 33 and begin the new (Jewish) year.

Later; now: dishes.


This is why I don’t go to Party City much…

Β 

Categories: Editorials
  1. Dan (the Grungy one)
    October 2, 2007 at 2:08 PM

    Very awesome to hear that your mom is doing well. Give her our wishes for a speedy recovery. πŸ™‚

    And I’m not sure, but I think Mr. Perez + Batman is high on the awesome meter. πŸ˜‰ We just don’t look right when we don the cowl with the beards, somehow.

  2. David (the stuffed one)
    October 9, 2007 at 8:10 PM

    I wish your mother a full and speedy recovery.

    I too am just beginning to catch up with things after several weeks of holidays. Too much feasting.

    I hope you had a chance to enjoy your succah. To be honest, when I was living in Miami, I did not look forward to sitting out in the heat. But the fall weather up here in Washington makes hot soup and hot tea in the succah a wonderful experience. Have you had a chance to game in the succah?

  3. October 9, 2007 at 11:08 PM

    David:
    Yes, I think I am still stuffed from the holidays. Man, regardless of how much you walk to shul and back, it’s killer!

    Thanks for the good wishes for my mother. πŸ™‚

    I did get a chance to use the sukkah, but yes, it was hot, and wet, very wet, this year. The one at shul was larger, so it got more air, and at night, thankfully, it got cooler. I wouldn’t mind experiencing Sukkot in a cooler climate, though.

    And no, no gaming in the sukkah… yet. πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

