Home > Travel > I’m Going to GTS!

I’m Going to GTS!

The GAMA Trade Show in Las Vegas is the main industry-only conference for the Hobby Gaming Industry. It’s four days of seminars and exhibits where manufacturers, distributors, retailers and freelancers can mingle and talk, present the new games for the year and make deals and plans for the future. I wanted to attend (actually, I’ve wanted to attend every year since I went for the first time in 1998, the infamous Miami GTS, but that’s another post) but I wasn’t going to be able to do so due to the financial problem incurred by my job situation from earlier in the year (see Scammed). Bummer, but oh well.

Until a couple of days ago. I won’t go into all the details, but the fact of the matter is that, due to the incredible generosity of someone (I won’t say who it is so as to not embarass them), I am going to GTS in a couple of weeks. I will be rooming with friend and fellow podcaster Dan Repperger of Fear the Boot and we’re both looking forward to an amazing show where we can get to meet and talk with fellow industry folks in a calm atmosphere geared precisely towards this, as opposed to the hectic summer shows, such as Origins or Gen Con.

For me this will be a bit tricky because GTS falls in the week of Pesach (Passover) so it means that I will have to take most of my own food and be incredibly careful while in Vegas so as to not break the Pesach laws; if regular Kosher is complicated and strict, Kosher for Pesach is ten times as much (or in gamer terms, regular Kosher is D&D, Kosher for Pesach is Hero System).

I’ve never been to Vegas, and to be honest, it has never called my attention as a destination. That said, I am curious to see the place, if only to say I have seen the city in the desert. I won’t be able to do the other two things I would have gone to Vegas for (Star Trek: The Experience and Cirque du Soleil’s O) so maybe, just maybe, there might be a return trip one day (or a future GTS).

So if you’re going to GTS, let me know so we can meet up and say hi. And many thanks to the person who made this possible; I am eternally grateful.

Categories: Travel Tags: , , ,
  1. April 3, 2008 at 8:47 AM

    “regular Kosher is D&D, Kosher for Pesach is Hero System”

    Loved that!

    In board game terms, we might say that “regular Kosher is Ticket to Ride, Kosher for Pesach is Age of Steam.”

    Or back to roleplaying, how about this: “Orthodox is D&D, Chasidic is Burning Wheel.”

  2. April 3, 2008 at 8:53 AM

    All beautifully geeky analogies. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

