Home > Editorials > Need Help with Windows

Need Help with Windows

To all my computer geek friends out there, I’m having problems with my Windows.

This morning I clicked erroneously on a spam link while going for the Delete button. The website opened but I closed it immediately. However, the computer froze, and I got the blue screen of doom. The computer started doing a physical memory dump, and in the middle of it, it auto-restarted. When it did, it took two tries for it to actually boot followed by an auto-diagnose. After that, many of my programs won’t work (iTunes, Acrobat, Dreamweaver, MS Money) and I keep getting errors telling me dome .dll’s are missing and them not being valid Windows image. An example:

The application or DLL C:Program FilesMicrosoft Money PlusMNYCoreFilesrcmpacct.dll is not a valid Windows image. Please check this against your installation diskette.

So, WTF is going on? Help me! I’ll be offline until Saturday night, but feel free to leave a comment and I’ll get to it once then.

Thanks.

Categories: Editorials
  1. James Brown
    July 19, 2008 at 12:53 PM

    Simplest solution:
    1: Disconnect your computer from any kind of network.
    2: Try to repair Windows with your install disks, or boot from Last Known Good Configuration.

    If that fails, or doesn’t work:

    1: From another computer, download a current virus finder-and-remover and install it onto CD.
    2: Boot your computer from said CD and clean the heck out of it.
    3: try the repair again.
    4: if necessary rebuild.

    Sucky, but there it is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

