Home > Slow Bike Miami > Local Wildlife

Local Wildlife

One of the advantages of living in Miami Beach (especially over the suburb of Kendall where I used to live) is that you get to see a lot of local wildlife, especially of the marine kind. Since I walk every week to go to Synagogue, I get to see animals other people pay good money to see at an aquarium right in their native habitat. I’ve been fortunate enough to see dolphins, manatees (once even a mom and her baby calf), tons of fishes, hundreds of jellyfish of many sizes and colors, and stingrays. The only problem is that, since I see these animals on days when I cannot use a camera, like Shabbat or Holy Days, I am left only with the memory of my encounter.

This morning, while biking to synagogue, as I was starting the climb up the intracoastal bridge, I happened to look over. The water was completely still, like a mirror between the islands, and that’s a perfect time to spot dolphins, as well as to check out the shallows since visibility is near perfect. I peeked over the railing and bingo, a spotted stingray!

Stingray

Stingray

Stingray

This one was about three feet from wingtip to wingtip, not the largest I have seen (this past Saturday I saw one twice as big as this one) but certainly of a respectable size.

I love these fleeting encounters. Especially because not all the wildlife in the area is very glamorous.

Local Wildlife

Ugly turkey vultures…

Categories: Slow Bike Miami Tags: ,
  1. Yvette
    September 17, 2008 at 11:44 AM

    This is one of the (few) things I actually love about living on Miami Beach. BTW, the turkey vulture pic isn’t coming up.

  2. Highmoon
    September 17, 2008 at 11:55 AM

    Checked pic settings and all should be well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

