Home > The Literary Nurse > Back For A Week & Latest Update On Mom

Back For A Week & Latest Update On Mom

As of Tuesday I’ve been back in Miami for a week and just now is when I’m finally starting to get back into the groove of daily life. I spent almost two months in Puerto Rico, and that completely threw me for a loop, especially once I got back home. The first couple of days I was walking around in a daze, almost seeing everything as if for the first time, or as if from a previous life. I’m very thankful to my wife who put up with me during this readjustment period.

Since being back I have filled out and submitted my application to re-enter FIU as part of the School of Nursing. I had to take care of a couple of things, but all’s well and good now and I simply wait for their answer. I’m hoping I’ll be able to take a class or two this semester, but if not, I then start full tilt come January. I’m very excited about this, I cannot wait to get started. I’ve had a couple of moments where I doubt myself, start to panic about what I’m about to undertake, feel my resolution waning, but I just push it all away and continue forward.

As for Mom, she’s at my aunt’s house and under hospice care. I have only praises for the care she’s getting from her hospice; the nurses come daily and punctually, treat her well and are not condescending with anyone in the house, take great care of her and attend to all her needs. She’s fairly stable, but she’s weak, and suffers from cycles of dizzyness and vomiting that sometimes render her little more than a sleeping machine. When I talk to her on the phone I can usually tell how she’s doing and though earlier this week she was a bit delicate, today she sounded a little stronger. At least the pain is not bothering her. The best way to sum it up is, she’s as well as can be expected given her condition, but we take things one day at a time.

Saturday, August 8th, is her 56th birthday. If you’d like to leave her a birthday wish on her Facebook page, click on the badge below and go ahead. I’ll be checking the account to approve any new friend request.

[RAW]
Wanda I. Robles | Create Your Badge
Wanda I. Robles
[/RAW]

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

