Home > Slow Bike Miami > Shopping For A New Bike – And The Winner Is

Shopping For A New Bike – And The Winner Is

It’s been a fun time, doing all the research on the various bikes. I even got to test-ride a really awesome bike that I’d been eying for a while. I cast my net far and wide, checking out a lot more bikes than I actually wrote here about, brands I came to discover along the way, and options from companies better known for their sports models which are now catering to the (re)emergent commuter market. I tried to be as fair as possible in my research, I promise, and eventually I ended up considering a couple of actually Dutch bikes that I would have simply had to purchase unseen given there are just no dealers for any of these brands in Miami or the South Florida area.

I weighed a lot of factors when making my final decision, including price, build, and availability locally/via shipping. I did my best to consider each bike individually for its own merits, not compared to other similar models, and I think I even succeed most of the time. Let it be known that in reaching this decision I even called Canada, about four times, not to mention contact a number of Florida, Chicago and NYC shops, just so I would be sure I was doing my due diligence.

In the end, it came down to what I could get that had the most features I wanted and the best build/durability for my budget. Ladies and gentlemen, the winner is:

Electra Amsterdam 3i Classic

The Electra Amsterdam 3i Classic.

Why? Well, let me tell you:

  • Dutch City Bike looks – It’s what I wanted right from the start; I’m a sucker for that European look.
  • Steel frame – I’m a big and heavy guy and I want something I can feel safe on. I don’t have an issue with the weight of it (Red Beast weights a ton as well), and I like the idea of riding a two-wheeled tank.
  • City/commuter accessories – Lights (battery & dynamo-powered), bell, rack, chainguard and fenders all are included in the package. The coatguard’s nice but with all the coats I wear (not), to me it’s more of a look thing (and a place to put Slow Bicycle Movement and Slow Bike Miami stickers). It only lacks a front rack, and that’s something I can get later on.
  • 3 Speeds – It was a must that my new bike have more than a single speed. My knees will be very thankful.
  • Affordability – While I am sure a Gazelle Toer Populair and/or a Batavus Favoriet or Fryslan would have been an awesome choice, they were just out of my budget range, period. The Amsterdam gives me pretty much what those bikes offer for about $300 to $400 less, and that’s no chum change. (Actually, I will confess that if the Batavus Favoriet had been in stock, I probably would have gone with it as my winning choice, but they aren’t, and they won’t be until the Spring, at the very least, and without any guarantee of availability.)

I have one minor reservation at the back of my mind regarding the bike’s durability over time. Dutch bikes are notably tough, made to withstand every kind of weather anomaly there is (even Chicago winters). In Miami, I don’t have snow to worry about, but I do have rain to worry about; lots of rain; lots and lots of rain. And given I live in Miami Beach, there’s the salt in the air issue as well. To be honest, I’m looking forward to putting this bike through the ringer and seeing how it does. It will either be a ringing endorsement or a complete failure; there’s no middle road here.

The bike has been ordered through the Miami Beach Bicycle Center (where I tested the Townie). I considered buying through City Bikes in Aventura, where we bought my wife’s Amsterdam, but the price was the same and I liked the idea of establishing a good relationship with a local bike shop, with a local bike mechanic. I can also go pick up my bike by bus then ride it home, something that would be a little harder coming from Aventura to Miami Beach. It should be ready to pick up by Tuesday of next week, so it’ll be here right on time for my birthday on the 12th. I can’t wait!

Now I just need to figure out what to do with Red Beast.

Categories: Slow Bike Miami Tags:
  1. October 2, 2009 at 11:54 AM

    Exciting! Based on all the factors you laid out, it sounds like you made the right choice. The Amsterdam is all steel, so it should do perfectly fine in the rain and salt. I love the idea of putting stickers on the coat guard 🙂

    • October 2, 2009 at 1:33 PM

      This may be obvious and redundant, but yeah, I am excited as well! I think this will be a chance to give the American brand a shot at holding its own against the Dutchies out there.

      And yeah, totally putting the stickers. It’ll be like putting that one sticker that says “It’s mine” on your car. 🙂

  2. October 2, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    I recommend you ask your local shop to spray the inside of your new frame with JP Weigles Frame Saver. This stuff coats the inside of the steel tubes protecting them from corrosion. A can of this stuff cost about $12. I believe Coral Way Bicycle Shop told me they’d spray it for $10-12 once, I forgot.

    • October 4, 2009 at 10:13 PM

      That’s a really good tip. I’ll contact MB Bicycle Center to see if they can do this before they build it. Thanks!

  3. Kathy
    October 8, 2009 at 2:04 PM

    I live in Cartagena and my house is right in front of the beach, so I absolutely get your concern about salt.

    Clean it as often as possible, use spray silicone mainly on all the chromed areas. My humble bike has endured salt like this.

    Enjoy!

    • October 8, 2009 at 8:52 PM

      Thanks for dropping by, Kathy, and for the suggestions. I’ll look into such spray and see how best to use it here.

      I did have the inside of the frame sprayed with JP Weigles Frame Saver, as Rydel suggested a couple comments above. Hopefully that will help protect the steel frame as well.

      So what bike do you have? How’s cycling in Cartagena?

  4. October 15, 2009 at 1:13 PM

    I like the Electra Amsterdam 3i and I think it will make a good bike for you. But I do wonder if you considered a Batavus, say the new Frysland or the 1-2 Have? They are a little more money, but they are very classic, very Dutch, still made in Holland.

    If so, what attributes does the Electra have over the Batavus? Obviously, since we sell Batavus I am biased, but I am asking this as a “what can Batavus do better” question.

    P.S. — Don’t use FrameSaver unless you plan on disassembling the bike first … it is messy and is not good for the grease in the headset or bottom bracket.

    — Bryan

    • October 15, 2009 at 3:13 PM

      Hello, Bryan.
      They used the frame saver as it was being assembled so that’s covered.

      Why the Amsterdam? It’s all in the post above. Why over the Batavus? Also above – price and availability. No store in Miami sells Batavus, and though we could have gotten one down here, the model I could afford, the Favoriet, was out of stock. The Frysland is awesome, but just outside of what I could pay.

  5. October 29, 2010 at 12:43 AM

    I have the same bike and I love it! Im not sure if is salt or not but I live near the beach and ride close to the beach all of the time and have had an issue with the cranks.

    My Amsterdam is about 5 years old so they may have fixed the problem but the “chrome” on the crank arms is pretty much spray paint. One of mine is almost flaked all the way off and they look like hell.

    I still love the bike, I cant ride it without a smile on my face.
    .-= Joe from San Diego´s last blog… The Actual Cost of Waiting for San Diego Home Prices to Drop More =-.

  1. October 2, 2009 at 11:08 PM

Leave a Reply

