Home > Slow Bike Miami > Slow Bike Westchester

Slow Bike Westchester

Since my post last week on Critical Mass, I’ve spent all my time addressing comments and none writing new posts. It’s been great, because I believe we’ve had a good and civil conversation, something that definitely needs to happen often, but it’s also been very draining at times. Couple that with a move to a new apartment, and it just makes for a very tired blogger.

Yesterday I checked my Twitter feed and I saw a tweet from @YanielCantelar that read, “@Highmoon this blog post is for you! http://bit.ly/2rutYv.” Yaniel is a cyclist that lives down in south Miami-Dade and whom I started following via the @BikeMiami account. He normally rides a road bike and does time-trial/speed riding, posting on his blog photos and videos taken with his iPhone, and cool graphs put together by his Garmin unit. While this isn’t the type of riding I do, I enjoy connecting with other cyclists in the city. Obviously I was curious about Yaniel’s tweet, so I clicked.

Yaniel’s post is entitled “Slow Bike Westchester,” where he blogs about having gone out on his Regions Bank green cruiser to take a ride around his neighborhood just for the fun of it. No Lycra jersey, no clipless pedals, no time to beat, just riding, cruising. And he enjoyed it thoroughly.

After a week of heavy conversation on the CM thread and other forums, Yaniel’s post lifted my spirits and brought a smile to my face.

Rock on, Yaniel, and keep slow bicycling every so often. Your road bike won’t be jealous, I promise. šŸ™‚

  1. November 10, 2009 at 10:50 AM

    Daniel, I’m glad you liked it. I had read your piece on CM but not the comments. seems like you’ve had your hands full. I’m taking the cruiser out now to do a quick run to the post office, the basket is great!
    .-= Yaniel CantelarĀ“s last blog… Slow Bike Westchester. Stylin’ on the Beach Cruiser =-.

    • November 10, 2009 at 11:46 AM

      Fantastic. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. And yes, baskets rock (though now I LOOOOVE my panniers!).

  2. November 12, 2009 at 8:09 AM

    That is a sweet bike!
    .-= DottieĀ“s last blog… A Very Good Day =-.

  3. November 13, 2009 at 7:59 PM

    I’m loving the colour green – my favourite. I also love the fact that an ardent cyclist has re-discovered the joys of simple cycling, excellent news!
    .-= MarkAĀ“s last blog… y o u b i k e l o n d o n; Lalasa from Neasden =-.

    • November 14, 2009 at 10:06 PM

      That’s what really made me happy. They’re not exclusive, both can be enjoyed in their own right.

  1. November 10, 2009 at 10:43 AM

Leave a Reply

