Home > Uncategorized > 2009 in Books

2009 in Books

Follow me on GoodReads

This wasn’t my best year for reading books, I will admit. I had an early surge but after February it all went a bit downhill, and now towards the end of the year I have had to push myself through a couple of books that are really good but that I seem to lack the discipline to finish. I’m looking forward to fixing that in 2010.

I ended up reading a lot more non-fiction than fiction this year, interestingly enough. The fiction I did read this year, however, was fantastic and truly rewarding.

This list includes books, roleplaying games and graphic novels.

Rex Mundi Volume 3: The Lost Kings (Rex Mundi) by Arvid Nelson
Rex Mundi Volume 3: The Lost Kings

The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow ... by A.J. Jacobs
The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible As Literally As Possible

Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen... by Julie Powell
Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen

My Life in France (Hardcover) by Julia Child
My Life in France

Summer Knight (The Dresden Files, #4) by Jim Butcher
Summer Knight (The Dresden Files, #4)

Travel Writing (Paperback) by L. Peat O'Neil
Travel Writing

Outliers (Hardcover) by Malcolm Gladwell
Outliers

Coraline (Paperback) by Neil Gaiman
Coraline

Don't Rest Your Head (6 x 9 softcover; PDF (available seperately... by Fred Hicks
Don’t Rest Your Head

Savage Worlds Explorers Edition (S2P10010) by Shane Lacy Hensley
Savage Worlds Explorers Edition

Player's Handbook 2 (D&D Core Rulebook) by Wizards RPG Team
D&D Player’s Handbook 2

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (Paperback) by Michael Chabon
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay

Swashbucklers of the 7 Skies (Hardcover) by Chad Underkoffler
Swashbucklers of the 7 Skies

Purity of Blood (Adventures of Captain Alatriste #2) by Arturo Pérez-Reverte
Purity of Blood (Adventures of Captain Alatriste #2)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
[Reread]

The Time Traveler's Wife (Paperback) by Audrey Niffenegger
The Time Traveler’s Wife

The Road (Paperback) by Cormac McCarthy
The Road

Pedaling Revolution: How Cyclists Are Changing American Cities (... by Jeff Mapes
Pedaling Revolution: How Cyclists Are Changing American Cities

How to Live Well Without Owning a Car: Save Money, Breathe Easie... by Chris Balish
How to Live Well Without Owning a Car: Save Money, Breathe Easier, and Get More Mileage Out of Life
*

* Okay, so technically, as I write this, I haven’t finished this book, but I will be done with it before the 31st.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. JJ
    December 27, 2009 at 1:08 PM

    I never thought of tracking the RPG & graphic novels I read. I did a lot at the beginning and then lost the discipline for posting what I was reading even though I kept on reading. Thanks for sharing your list.
    .-= JJ´s last blog… Being loud! =-.

  2. December 27, 2009 at 1:15 PM

    @JJ
    You know, it could almost be called cheating, tracking those as well, but I read them so they count.

    I have found GoodReads to be a good way to keep track of books read, owned, wanted, etc. I’d suggest you join and friend me up. http://www.goodreads.com/highmoon
    You’ll find Mick in there as well.

  3. JJ
    December 27, 2009 at 8:47 PM

    Done!
    .-= JJ´s last blog… Being loud! =-.

  4. Wifey
    December 29, 2009 at 12:04 PM

    I read more books than you! 😛

  5. December 29, 2009 at 12:11 PM

    @Wifey
    Oh, you totally kicked my ass, and with no graphic novels or RPG books to boot. I only get to brag because you don’t have a blog where to expose my shame. 😉

  6. Wifey
    December 29, 2009 at 1:34 PM

    I do have a blog. I just don’t write on it. 😛 And you’re right. I think the only GN I read was Sandman: Endless Nights. The rest were “real” books. 😀

  7. Wifey
    December 29, 2009 at 1:35 PM

    AND… I got through Jane Eyre at long last, after about 12 years of trying! YAY!

  8. December 29, 2009 at 1:55 PM

    @Wifey
    Yay!

  9. JJ
    December 31, 2009 at 5:30 AM

    Having recently finished the first three volumes of the Trojan War in graphic novel form, I count graphic novels as ‘real’ books. That and I’m struggling with a translation of Homer’s epic for several months now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

