Home > Editorials > My Mom Used To Say…

My Mom Used To Say…

There was a phrase my Mom used all the time. It was like a mantra, and I don’t know about my sisters, but it got etched in my mind as a clear message of how Life works and how we should live it.

“Lo mejor que hizo Dios fue un dia despues del otro.”
(The best thing G-d made was one day after the other.)

Sunrise on South Beach, by Daniel M. Perez

It’s all about letting time pass and being open to the healing it brings.

Of course, my Mom also used to say, “La ultima la paga el diablo,” (the devil pays the last one) so I also have that mantra to guide me. Not sure what that says about me.  😉

Categories: Editorials Tags:
  1. JJ
    May 13, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    “I’m not looking back
    But I want to look around me now
    See more of the people and the places that surround me now
    Time stands still

    “Summer’s going fast, nights growing colder
    Children growing up, old friends growing older
    Freeze this moment a little bit longer
    Make each sensation a little bit stronger
    Experience slips away
    Experience slips away…
    The innocence slips away”

    Time Stand Still – Rush

  2. May 13, 2010 at 12:11 PM

    @JJ
    Trust Rush to have something fitting. 😉

  3. David
    May 13, 2010 at 9:34 PM

    Very wise.

    • May 14, 2010 at 7:47 AM

      Yeah, she was, even if I didn’t always appreciate it.

  4. Mick Bradley
    May 23, 2010 at 12:26 PM

    @JJ – good job bringing in the Rush.

    @Daniel – wonderful photo, and a lot of good wisdom from your mom.

    also … a semi tongue-in-cheek/semi-serious question: Are you allowed to write “Dios” out in full?

  5. May 25, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    @Mick Bradley
    Normally, no. But here it was a quote, so I left it. 🙂

    Also, thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

