Home > The Literary Nurse > From Rejection, A New Beginning

From Rejection, A New Beginning

Today, as I rejoined the world after being offline for two days in celebration of the holiday of Shavuot, I had the following email waiting for me in my Inbox:

from    D. Loffredo
to      Daniel M. Perez
date    Wed, Jun 8, 2011 at 6:04 PM
subject    FIU Generic BSN Program

June 8, 2011

Dear Daniel Perez:

I regret to inform you that you were not accepted to the FIU College of Nursing and Health Sciences Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program for Fall 2011.  I truly applaud you on your choice of the nursing profession and wish you all the best in your future career endeavors.

If you choose to reapply to our program, the next application cycle will be for admission to Fall 2012.  On behalf of the College of Nursing & Health Sciences faculty and staff, I sincerely thank you for your interest in our program.

Sincerely,
D. Loffredo, RN-BC, MSN
Director, Admission and Student Services
College of Nursing and Health Sciences

I had to read it twice before it sunk in: I didn’t make it into the BSN program at FIU.

I won’t lie, I’m crushed.

I have been working for this for the past year and a half, pushing myself to learn, to excel in new academic areas, dealing with a whole new language, curriculum, mentality, all because I know that this is what I need to do now, become a nurse. This email felt like a sledgehammer to the gut.

I will be honest, I am crushed.

I have little desire to finish the class I am taking (Professional Nursing Concepts & Issues), a class that while interesting, is only necessary for the FIU BSN requirements. I have little desire to do the project that I have to present in front of the class next week, to take the final the week after that. This is all the sadness talking, I know this, but that’s what I feel now.

But that’s just now.

While today I am allowing myself to feel bad, to feel down, to feel crushed over this rejection, that’s just today. Tomorrow I’m putting all that in a box as a memento and moving ahead. This is only a speedbump, nothing more.

I express myself via writing; I work through things via the written word, organize thoughts via sentences, fight my demons with pens and keyboards. It is why out of this rejection I have chosen to launch this new blog, The Literary Nurse. This is me working through the process of going from a Humanities-trained English graduate to a Science-retrained Nurse. This is me moving this journey to the uttermost forefront, to a place where it stands king-like over my thoughts. This is where I geek out about becoming a nurse.

I have chosen to import all the relevant posts about this journey that were on my personal blog so that the story is complete over here. Likewise, I am exporting all new posts from this site to my personal one for the sake of archival continuity.

This is only a speedbump, and speedbumps are there to slow you down so you pay attention to your surroundings before continuing. That’s what I’m doing now. And then I’ll be on my way again.

I will be a Nurse.

Categories: The Literary Nurse Tags: ,
  1. June 10, 2011 at 5:02 AM

    I really really do hope this comes through for you mate. I’ve followed your journey since it began – and I know just how hard you’ve been working towards this goal. You’ve been an inspiration, giving me the push I needed to analyze my own life here, and take some steps that I likely wouldn’t have taken.

    Take care Daniel, and if there’s anything you need, just holler!

  2. Graham
    June 10, 2011 at 10:44 AM

    That’s a blow. I’m sorry about that.

    I know what you mean about it spilling over into other areas of your life. I get a similar thing. I don’t know an easy solution, but it’s OK to be discouraged (if that helps).

    • June 10, 2011 at 11:05 AM

      Thanks, Graham. Giving myself permission to be sad, pissed, discouraged, etc was something I had to learn over the last year or so. It’s ok. I also learned to then put it in its place and move on, which is why I felt like crap last night and last night I also decided to funnel that into a new step, namely this blog. As I said above, I’ve come too far now to not see this to the end.

  3. June 10, 2011 at 10:49 AM

    I can sympathize, having received many similar responses while trying to get my foot in the door of a programming career. But through perseverance, determination, and wit (and not a small amount of creativity) I achieved what I wanted.

    I’d never deign to say I know well, but I know you well enough to say you have qualities that will lead to success/achievement and this moment will be an experience that only develops those qualities.

    Which is a convoluted way of saying, I think you’ll be doing what you want soon.

    • June 10, 2011 at 11:08 AM

      Thanks, Michael. I have to say I cannot believe how lucky I am to have so many people that take the time to say even a few words of encouragement. It’s humbling and gives me more impetus to surpass the bump and move on.

  4. June 10, 2011 at 11:38 AM

    The story of my life, bro.

    You’ve got the right attitude – even if you’re just talking yourself through the paces right now. What you tell yourself is what you will believe, so tell yourself that no matter what, you are going to get through this and move on.

    Don’t take it personally. This is probably the hardest thing to do because, of course, most people take rejection personally. I know when I was rejected the first time I applied for a teaching degree, I spent a long time trying to figure out what was wrong with me. The fact that they received simply far too many applicants was the reason – and it was easier when I realized that. So try not to take it personally.

    Learn and move on. Honestly, the only way to get over rejection is to learn from the rejection and move on. Being rejected is not the end of anything; it is the beginning of learning, right? And you’re not giving up – you’re adapting and overcoming. Kudos to you.

    And when you’re a nurse, you can look back on this just like I did. 17 years later, the teacher I am today gets a kick out of the really pissed-off guy that was not in the lucky first draw for the courses. And I think I read that Soichiro Honda was turned down when he applied for a job as an engineer at Toyota. So you’re in good company. 😉

    You will be a nurse.

    • June 10, 2011 at 11:49 AM

      It’s a very competitive program. Only 100 spots are available and the average GPA is 3.7. I wasn’t quite there, but I know my previous degree did give me a boost. But ultimately there’s about 350 applicants, so about two thirds will not get in, period. Logically I know this, and by next week it will be a nice statistic. I’m ok with that. Having gone through a year of therapy has allowed me to deal with this a lot better than at any other point in my life so I’m glad for that. Just gotta regroup.

      The way I see it, this is a plot point. This is Rocky losing a fight. It’s now time for my montage to the tune of Survivor.

      • June 13, 2011 at 8:32 PM

        I look forward to the montage with that great ending, hands pumping in the air.

        And, of course, the final scene in the movie, in which you have graduated from the nursing program. That’ll make all the speedbumps seem like an amusing rollercoaster ride.

      • June 13, 2011 at 8:56 PM

        Funny, I totally see this as leading to the montage as well. 🙂

        Thanks, Fraser.

  5. Raphael
    June 10, 2011 at 12:37 PM

    I am truly sorry for your disappointment and applaud your tenacity and spirit. Your bravery is admirable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

