Home > Editorials, The Literary Nurse > 12 Pints Of Blood

12 Pints Of Blood

During my mom’s stay at the hospital throughout 2009, she had to have a lot of blood transfused to her. The tumors she had were especially hungry for hematocrits and as her levels would drop suddenly, pints of blood had to be had at the ready so keep her stabilized. All in all, over the 5 or so months she spent in and out of the hospital, she ended up using 12 pints of blood.

You know those commercials where they say to please donate blood, that you might be saving a life? Guess what, they’re 100% true. Thanks to those 12 pints of blood my mom was able to live just a little longer. She had no way to pay that cosmic debt back, but I had.

Since late 2009, I embarked on a small quest to donate those 12 pints of blood back (and just to put it more in perspective, that’s 1.5 gallons of blood). Last night I made it. Last night I donated my 12th pint of blood of the last two-ish years, and finally managed to pay back what was owed.

[ichc-flickr-slide width=”500″ height=”375″ username=”dmperez” set_id=”72157628482719023″ player_r=”109615″]

I feel awesome. I know for a fact that this blood I have donated will go to help someone else live a little longer, be with their loved ones a little longer. I know Mom is high-fiving me right now.

I don’t intend to stop. I intend to continue donating every 2 months, because someone will always need blood. I exhort you to donate blood regularly as well.

For Mom, for myself, for those who will need it and will have it thanks to my and your donations.

  1. December 20, 2011 at 12:32 AM

    Wow, so inspiring! Thanks for sharing your great and wonderful way to honor your mother! Thanks for doing that!!!! Gees, I think its time I got off my ass and donated then! 😀

    • December 20, 2011 at 1:45 AM

      No, thank you for dropping by and the kind words. And yes, we should all donate!

  2. December 21, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    Donating blood is a noble activity, not to mention simply a healthy one, but you should really pace yourself.

    Donating a pint every two months sounds to be A LOT – you should probably consult your MD about this. There’s no point in wearing yourself down to the point you’re endangering your own health.
    I’ve being consistently donating a pint every six months for the last ten years or so, and plan to keep at up for as long as I’m able.
    (That being said, everyone’s physiology is different – for me, donating every two months would be too much. If your body handles it OK – more power to you)

    • December 21, 2011 at 12:57 PM

      Physiologically speaking, every 8 weeks all the blood cells I gave away have completely regenerated (the fluid regenerates in a couple days), so at least in that dept I’m good. But yes, I do keep an eye on that. Thanks for watching out. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

